opkrot.blogg.se

How to set the dbx driverack 260 up for a subwoofer config
How to set the dbx driverack 260 up for a subwoofer config











how to set the dbx driverack 260 up for a subwoofer config

The Maggie’s 86dB/watt/m efficiency has always been a weak point for me. The sound seems to be more dynamic, lively and, well, effortless. The benefits of this configuration are what I perceive to be a greater authority of the amps over the speakers. It's possible that I'm still just mesmerized by the speakers' increased liveliness and therefore missing any possible degradation. But to what degree and to what detriment, I can’t tell from listening. Given the unit’s price ($700) and its typical use, not to mention the added connection points, I find it entirely possible that some signal degradation is happening. They may fall well short of the higher standard typically seen in audiophile components. Second, I’m not sure of the quality of the internals of the dbx unit. First, inserting this unit into the signal path creates another A-D/D-A conversion. I can list the specific crossover frequencies and slopes if anyone finds it necessary for the purpose of this discussion.īefore I get to the benefits, I’d like to highlight what I believe are the drawbacks. I’ve spent about a week making adjustments and have honed in on what I think is close to the ideal, at least as far as my ear can discern, although no measurements of this configuration have been taken yet. It does the same job for the Martin Logan Descent i sub that accompanies them. The dbx has been set up to provide a close approximation - only slightly tweaked - of the Maggie’s manufacturer-listed crossover points and slopes. It provides the means to employ an amp for my Magnepan 3.6R’s low frequency panels, and a separate amp for the mids and tweeters (the internal crossovers between mids and highs are still in use). I’ve inserted a dbx Driverack 260 speaker management unit into my system. I’m wondering if anyone else has tried this, but also if there is a better unit or a better method out there to achieve similar or better improvements in sound quality.













How to set the dbx driverack 260 up for a subwoofer config